top of page
Search
Writer's pictureStevie

The Crooked Path Book Review by Exploring Witchcraft

Updated: Jun 5


The Crooked Path by Keldon Book Review and Pricing

So, I have this little gem to enjoy and review for you guys. I spent the entire day and night reading this book..


Yesterday started waiting on Amazon who was bringing me a new stack of books and this is one of them.


I was doubtful about spending my hard earned moneys on a book that I should be able to write myself. However I was curious to see how a book like this had been written as my issue and any trad craft writers issue is how do we break down traditional witchcraft into a simple digestive form that won't offend or fuel a long running wiccan vs tradcraft (traditional witchcraft) war yet bring up its history, legitimacy and explain what traditional witchcraft actually is and how to practice it. This is not easy without writing chapters dedicated to how tradcraft really got its start and then trying to write a simple how to book on top of that. Well Kelden did just that and nailed it in my opinion without upsetting either side of the fence and keeping the history to the point with no wasted time trying to create elaborate back stories of how he got into traditional witchcraft, it's from a point of view that many can resonate with, he started in wicca but found, like many of us did that wicca only touched the surface of Witchcraft and the next stage was to walk the crooked path..


But what didn't I like???


Well nothing, this book is fantastic..


This book is a key 🗝 to literally opening and understanding the many books on traditional witchcraft which nearly all are written from a point of view that leaves new witches or people finding tradcraft for the first time lost in translation. This book opens that doorway to be able to understand the knowledge of other writers, cleverly written, clear and no poetic crap but a simple book that I found fun to read and simple to follow. The simple how to sections are easy and in my opinion correct and it felt right and not forced. It's not from a specific paths point of view either, it's very much mainline tradcraft to really allow the reader to build a solid foundation of traditional witchcraft no matter if your new or practicing for a long time. This book reminded me a few things I forgo, why sometimes in my own writings I get caught up in justification.


I loved the introduction written by Gemma Gary too.


My only issue is that I now have to totally re-write one of my books I have been working on for years as it almost reads the same, layout and everything. Beat to the finish line on this one haha but glad it was done in this way and I highly recommend this book to anyone that is look at traditional witchcraft from an unbiased point of view.


You can buy this on amazon for £10.78 on paperback or £9.49 on kindle.


For more follow @exploringwitchcraft on Instagram.

5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page